The Four Levels of Hospice Care


Routine Care

Routine care is the most common level of hospice care and most patients start on this level of care. Routine care is provided in the patient’s place of residence – a private home, an assisted living community, skilled nursing facility, etc. Under routine care, the patient receives regular visits from the members of your care team, based upon their specific needs. Generally, hospice staff will visit anywhere between two to seven times per week, depending on the patient’s needs. As the hospice patient’s condition changes, team members adjust their visits to accommodate these changes and ensure optimal care.


Continuous Care

Continuous Care is the highest level of hospice care that a patient can receive in a home or residential care facility. Continuous care is provided during periods of crisis in which a patient is experiencing symptoms that are unmanageable by routine care. Such symptoms will require continuous nursing intervention (up to 24 hours per day) to achieve palliation and comfort. During continuous care, nurses will remain bedside with the patient for at least 8 hours and up to 24 hours a day, until symptoms are managed and comfort is ensured.


Respite Care

Respite Care is provided to patients for the purpose of allowing family members and caregivers a short (five-day) break from the duties of caregiving. During respite care, patients are transferred to a contracted skilled nursing facility that will manage the care of the patient in conjunction with the hospice. Respite Care is only provided on an occasional basis, for a maximum of five days in every certification period.


General Inpatient Care

General Inpatient Care (or GIP) care takes place if a patient experiences acute symptoms that cannot be safely managed in their home or other residential setting. GIP care is provided in a skilled nursing facility, or a hospice inpatient unit where there is a 24 hour Registered Nurse available to manage these symptoms. Once symptoms are under control, the patient will return to their home usually under the routine level of care.

Five Star Home Hospice Logo

The Five Star Difference

Communication Reputation Personalization
Experience Expertise

Learn More



    If you have other questions or comments, please complete the form below and a member of our team will assist you.

    Five Star Home Hospice

    Hospice in Pasadena, California

    1028 N Lake Ave #106,
    Pasadena, CA 91104, USA

    Call: +1 626-791-1764


    SundayOpen 24 hours MondayOpen 24 hours TuesdayOpen 24 hours WednesdayOpen 24 hours ThursdayOpen 24 hours FridayOpen 24 hours SaturdayOpen 24 hours